music that resonates today and speaks to tomorrow

Historically, privilege, power, and access have been granted unequally in our nation. This is particularly true in the arts. As an artist-led group, Ensemble for These Times acknowledges that racial equity is essential for keeping contemporary classical chamber music vital, creative, and connected in the 21st century. E4TT is committed to an inclusive, equitable, and diverse practice, and to ensuring that all communities—including those that have been historically underrepresented based on race, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, disability, or any other factor—are represented in our artistic decisions and programming.


Nanette McGuinness, soprano
Anne Lerner, cello

Guest Artists

Margaret Halbig, season guest pianist
Ilana Blumberg, violin
Taylor Chan, piano
Alejandro Saiz San Emeterio, violin
Dawn Harms, violin
Chelsea Hollow, soprano
Julie Michael, viola
Abigail Monroe, cello
Laura Reynolds, English horn
Karen Rosenak, piano
Dagenais Smiley, violin
Solanch Sosa, violin
Dalit Hadass Warshaw, piano/composer
Xin Zhao, piano

Emerita Members

Kristin Pankonin
Dale Tsang


Nanette McGuinness, Artistic Executive Director
Stephanie Neumann, Special Projects Associate
Brennan Stokes, Design and Marketing Assistant
Jenny Ma, intern

Performance Videographer

Mister WA Productions

Advisory Council

David Garner, Senior Artistic Advisor
Elinor Armer
Kathy Barr
Jeffrey Hoover
Alden Jenks
Kurt Rohde
Frederica von Stade
Cynthia Whitehead

* Exiles & Emigres in Hollywood is sponsored, in part, by a grant from The Ross McKee Foundation and from the Dennis Schuman Charitable Foundation.

Ensemble for These Times is honored to be a fiscally sponsored affiliate of the InterMusic SF, a non-profit organization dedicated to small-ensemble music in the San Francisco Bay Area.

We are grateful for our supporters and partners: